Lead Out

Vanegas of DigiCell 4G Wins Record Setting Belmopan Classic


Just after 1pm local time today in the capital city of Belmopan, Joel Vanegas and Giovanni Lovell crossed the finish line arms raised in victory setting a new record for the Belmopan Cycling Classic. Vanegas, a recent addition to the DigiCell roster, has ridden very strong for the his new team in 2016 including an incredible Valentine Tour where he rounded out the top ten. Today he was part of a group of seven early escapees that threatened to see it through to the end. They were caught on the way back with under 15 miles to go and Vanegas joined his teammate Lovell in the winning break under 10 miles out.

Ordinarily, the Belmopan Classic runs from Belize City to Belmopan and back, but this year it ran true to its name, beginning and ending in Belmopan after making a u-turn in Belize City. The weather cool all day with a combination of scattered showers for the majority of the race. The weather conditions did not hamper the peloton today as they bravely smashed pedal over pedal to shatter the record of 4:07:03 set by Marlon Castillo in 2008. Vanegas finished ahead of that time by 14 minutes flat (3:53:03) and the tail end of the finishing riders, save for 1, crossing the line just over 3 minutes later.

Coming soon, we will have more reactions from today’s event.

Belmopan Classic 2016
Elite Men – Result

1 VANEGAS Joel (BIZ) DigiCell 4G Cycling Team 3:53:03
2 LOVELL Giovanni (BIZ) DigiCell 4G Cycling Team 0:00:00
3 HENDERSON David (BIZ) Benny's Megabytes Elite 0:00:36
4 ARANA Nissan (BIZ) Westrac Alliance 0:00:36
5 SANTIAGO Richard (BIZ) DigiCell 4G Cycling Team 0:00:36
6 VASQUEZ Ron (BIZ) Western Spirit Cycling Team 0:00:36
7 FLOWERS Tarique (BIZ) Benny's Megabytes Elite 0:00:36
8 STEWART Robert Liam (BIZ) Western Spirit Cycling Team 0:00:36
9 MIDDLETON Erwin (BIZ) DigiCell 4G Cycling Team 0:00:36
10 TZIB Angel (BIZ) BECOL Uprising Cycling Team 0:00:36
11 HAMILTON Quinton (BIZ) Unattached 0:00:36
12 QUIROZ Oscar Jr (BIZ) Western Spirit Cycling Team 0:00:36
13 MORIERA Henry (BIZ) Team SMART 0:00:57
14 ABRAHAM Delawn (BIZ) Westrac Alliance 0:01:01
15 AVILA BALAM Luis Jose (MEX) Team Yapurland 0:01:07
16 BORLAND Joel Adan (BIZ) DigiCell 4G Cycling Team 0:01:10
17 ROBATEAU Keion (BIZ) Westrac Alliance 0:01:57
18 MARIANO Robert (BIZ) DigiCell 4G Cycling Team 0:01:57
19 COLEMAN Elston (BIZ) Westrac Alliance 0:01:57
20 CHOTO Jose (BIZ) C-RAY Road Addikz 0:01:57
21 JONES Shane (BIZ) Westrac Alliance 0:01:57
22 GLADDEN Kenroy (BIZ) Unattached 0:01:57
23 JOSEPH Fitzgerald (BIZ) LAMPAZ Cycling Team 0:01:57
24 BARROW Darnell (BIZ) Team SMART 0:01:57
25 McKENZIE Ron (BIZ) Westrac Alliance 0:01:57
26 FIGUEROA Zahir (BIZ) BECOL Uprising Cycling Team 0:01:57
27 BUTLER Philton (BIZ) Unattached 0:01:57
28 LESLIE Phillip (BIZ) Benny's Megabytes Elite 0:01:57
29 VASQUEZ Shane (BIZ) Western Spirit Cycling Team 0:01:57
30 MORGAN Brandon (BIZ) Westrac Alliance 0:01:57
31 MAHEIA Colin (BIZ) Unattached 0:01:57
32 CABRAL Stephen (BIZ) Cabral/Marin 0:01:57
33 WILLACEY ISAIAH (BIZ) Unattached 0:01:57
34 CASASOLA Leroy (BIZ) DigiCell 4G Cycling Team 0:01:57
35 REQUENA Herman (BIZ) Team SMART 0:01:57
36 CATTOUSE Brandon (BIZ) C-RAY Road Addikz 0:01:57
37 STAINE Mark (BIZ) Team SMART 0:01:57
38 GUERRA Jesmar (BIZ) Benny's Megabytes Elite 0:01:57
39 POPE Byron (BIZ) Benny's Megabytes Elite 0:02:40
40 CHOTO Rafael (BIZ) C-RAY Road Addikz 0:03:08
41 BUTLER Orson (BIZ) Unattached 0:14:15
DNF BLACK Shannon (BIZ) BECOL Uprising Cycling Team 0:00:00
DNF GENTLE Delon (BIZ) BECOL Uprising Cycling Team 0:00:00
DNF CANO Tariq (BIZ) Team SMART 0:00:00
DNF CHOTO Peter (BIZ) C-RAY Road Addikz 0:00:00
DNF GABOUREL Kent (BIZ) Unattached 0:00:00
DNF SWASEY Kevin (BIZ) C-RAY Road Addikz 0:00:00
DNS LOVELL George Sr (BIZ) Unattached 0:00:00

About Isaac Rhys

Isaac Rhys is the Managing Editor at Based in the Belize, he started Cyclebiz in 2015 intent on attracting more attention to local bike races and its participants.

Recommended for you