Lead Out

Alicia Thompson Doubles Up In Digicell Valentine Mini Tour


Belize City, BELIZE

Alicia Thompson (Belize Bank Swoosh) took the second stage in the DigiCell Valentine Mini Tour this afternoon finishing ahead of Shalini Zabaneh (Team Sagitun). Zabaneh who lost the chance to lead in the general classification after a Stage 1 penalty finished  just behind Thompson in the  18.75 mile circuit race and remained only a second behind going into tomorrow’s road race. Kerah Eiley (Unattached) finished third but lost two seconds and now face a 17 second deficit after two stages. The real story of stage two was Kaya Cattouse (C-Ray Cycling) bowing out about half way through the course after not feeling well enough to continue. Earlier reports indicated that she was not a hundred percent coming into to the tour. Either way, the podium will see at least one new face this year with Cattouse now out of the tour. In the 2014 edition of the Valentine Classic, Cattouse took third behind Shalini Zabaneh who finished second and race champ Kerah Eiley.

Below is the current top 5 Female times listed after Stage 2

+57:26 Alicia Thompson (Belize Bank Swoosh)
-00:01 Shalini Zabaneh (Team Sagitun)
-00:17 Kerah Eiley (Unattached)
-05:11 Kaya Cattouse (C-Ray Cycling Team)
-06:02 Maricela Garcia (Team Sagitun)

In the Junior Category Kaydine Pinello (Unattached) secured the lead in the general classification with a first place finish after the 15 mile circuit race. Pinello and Darien Anderson (SMART Zoom) rolled in 1 and 2 for a time of 48:43 each which also was enough for first and second in the overall classification. Eighteen seconds later Anthony Marin (Cabral/Marin Cycling) crossed the finish line for third in the stage and third overall as well. With seven laps to go Marin and Anderson broke away from the Peloton and stayed clear for two laps before Pinello made the solo run to join them. Pinello, still in excellent form, pressured the duo and only Anderson was able to respond leaving Marin fighting to hold on for third. Stage 1 leader, Shane Jones (Chavarria Cycling) finished with a time of 49:15 and fell down to fourth overall some 15 seconds behind Pinello going into Stage 3.

Damien Usher (Shake N Bake Cycling Team), Dennis Arnold (Team Police) and Shaun Codd (Team Police) were dropped from hte top 10 in the overall classification. Darien Anderson made the biggest move up from 8th to 2nd. Tomorrow they take on the 63 mile road race in Stage 3.

Below is the current top 5 Juniors going into Stage 3

+54:01 Kaydine Pinello (Unattached)
-00:12 Darien Anderson (SMART Zoom)
-00:15 Anthony Marin (Cabral/Marin Cycling)
-00:17 Shane Jones (Chavarria Cycling Club)
-00:28 Brian Sutherland (Cabral/Marin Cycling)

Download the CFB official overall classification here.


Recommended for you